Uncategorized

The Original Kinton

I mentioned in my last post that Kinton was a design based off a project I knitted almost 3 years ago. When I decided that the yummy Magpie yarn was destined to become a version of that same top, I wanted to hug myself for taking such good notes! I found my crumpled sheet of yellow paper with all the details and got to swatching. The final version ended up being a little different, but not completely.

st1
original version
magpieappknits_oliveandwest-2039
final version

The main differences are in construction and yarn choice. Even though the differences are subtle, the two tops are very different to look at. In the original, I chose to knit the front and back separately and join them with seams, while the final version is completely seamless. The yarn used in the original version was a laceweight silk/linen blend, which created a super lightweight and airy top, while the final version was created with a fingering weight wool, giving the top a bit more warmth and structure. It also made it not so see through, which I think is important. The neck hem was also picked up and knitted onto the final version as opposed to being part of the cast on. I also added garter hems to the sleeves on the final version, while the original didn’t have any sleeve finishing at all. I do still love the original, and wear it often during the warmer months, but I feel the final version is a huge improvement. Believe it or not, the lace stitch pattern is the same, but what a difference the yarn makes in the way it knits up! It was fun to look back at the original while I was putting the finishing touches on the final version. There are a lot of things I would have done differently with the original if I’d had to do it over again – I’d add more ease, and make the top seamless – but I really enjoyed seeing how my thought process and skills have grown over the last 3 years. It’s nice to know that I’m growing in my craft, even when it doesn’t feel like it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Original Kinton

  1. this is amazing! I love that knitting is a craft that so clearly documents our growing skills and process. I already wanted to cast this on but knowing the story makes me want to even more šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

