Uncategorized

Magpie Fibers

I’m so excited to share our newest Appalachian Knits patterns today! For this release, we created patterns using Magpie Fibers, a small independent dyer based in Frederick, Maryland. Created by Dami Hunter, Magpie specializes in luxury yarns – and luxury they are! My design contribution for this release is Kinton, a spring and summer top with a lace panel running down the back.

magpieappknits_oliveandwest-1953

I used Magpie’s Domestic Fingering, which is a superwash wool, spun with wool raised and processed in the United States. This yarn is amazing. It’s so bouncy and squishy, and creates wonderful stitch definition. This top is meant to be worn with 2-4 inches of positive ease, which is perfect for maximizing comfort during the warmer months. Knitted top down and seamlessly, Kinton is a wonderful warmer weather knit.

magpieappknits_oliveandwest-2039

You can see more photos and read more about the top on Ravelry.

Christina’s patterns were knit in Magpie’s Swanky DK, which is a delicious combination of wool, cashmere, and a hit of nylon. I have a hat knitted with this yarn, and it’s incredibly soft and luxurious.

MagpieAppKnits_OliveandWest-2216_medium2.jpg

This blanket shawl, Allegany, is the best of both worlds – it’s a blanket and shawl. Perfect for traveling and with multiple ways to wear it, you’ll reach for Allegany time and time again.

Braddock is an adorable beanie with a simple textured pattern, that can be worn fitted or slouchy and with or without a pompom. Knitted with a skein of Swanky DK, this hat is a treat for your head!

MagpieAppKnits_OliveandWest-2372_medium2.jpg

All photos were taken by the super talented Oliva from Olive and West Photography, inside the gorgeous dome at the Asheville Glamping site. This shoot was such a blast! Our gorgeous model, Abigail, was a champ modeling in the dome, even though the heat wasn’t working and there were flurries flying through the air.

The samples and a few hard copies of our patterns will be at the Magpie booth at Stitches West next week – if you’re there, please stop by and say hi to Dami and check out her gorgeous yarns!

I’ll be back next week to talk a bit about my design process for Kinton. If you’ve been hanging around this blog for a while, you may remember the original from a couple of years ago! It’s come a long way since then…

 

2 thoughts on “Magpie Fibers

  1. Hi Jennifer! I came across your work through kollabora’s latest blog post which featured your Most Autumnal Socks. Everything you make is so beautiful! I am keen to try my hand at knitting something wearable other than scarves and would love to give your pattern a try. However, I am unable to download it from your ravelry page and was wondering if you would be so kind as to help me out? 🙂

    Like

  2. H Jennifer, I also left you a message on Instagram, so forgive me if it looks like I am stalking you. Not sure you read all these sites. I bought a three color fade kit from la bien Aimee that I think would be absotely stunning with your pattern, but I am not sure if this garment is designed for multi color yarns. If I understand your revelry page correctly, the back is knit first. I am not an experienced knitter and I am not sure how I could make the colors fade down the garment if the back is knit first. Could you let me know what you think?

    Like

Leave a Reply

