Uncategorized

Beach Ready

Sometimes it’s a little fun to go outside your comfort zone. I don’t do it a whole lot with knitting because I feel like at this point I know what I like, and I know what my wardrobe needs. This pattern is definitely outside my comfort zone. And, I don’t mean that to say that it was difficult to knit, I mean that to say that when I saw the pattern, I didn’t imagine it immediately fitting into my wardrobe. But the more I looked at the other projects, and thought about how perfect it would be over a bathing suit, I went for it. I definitely don’t regret it.

From start to finish, this top only took four days to complete – that includes blocking. And it was so interesting the whole time! There are mesh short rows, plus pleats. Nothing boring here! While I love the whole thing, the texture on the back really tugs at my heart.

On top of being insanely quick to make, this also took hardly any yarn. I haven’t weighed my remaining ball, but I’d estimate this took less than 1.5 skeins of Silky Wool. I went with a bit more ease than the designer recommended, and made the size 40″, which gives me about 4-5″ of ease. The only thing I did differently than the pattern was to gather the shoulder seams a bit, as I felt they were a little wide. I could even have them be a bit thinner. Next time!

 

I would absolutely make more of these. It’s going to be perfect throughout the summer, over a dress as pictured, or over a swimsuit. The next one I make may be the same length in the front and back, so that I could wear it over a tank top with jeans or shorts without showing my mid drift. Maybe in my early 20s I would have just worn it as is, over a bathing suit top with some shorts, but I don’t think I’ll be pulling that off anymore.

5 thoughts on “Beach Ready

  1. Is have the yarn to make two different versions of this. One is a bright summery pink and one a tan neutral. Thanks for reminding me I have this yarn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

