Uncategorized

Knitted Pot Cozies

The other day, I was sitting on my couch looking at two potted hyacinth bulbs that I impulse bought while at the grocery store. I love having flowers in my house, and it’ll be a while before they start blooming in our yard, so I figured these would be the perfect thing to add a little spring to our lives. Anyway, the pots they came in were just the standard ugly plastic pots. I considered re-potting them, but since they’re so far along in their growth, I figured it would be best to leave them alone. So I decided to knit little cozies for them! They turned out to be super adorable, and each took maybe 20 minutes to make. Super, super quick. And a great way to use up some scrap yarn.

image2

I didn’t measure how much yarn I used, but I’d guess maybe about 20 yards? These pots are fairly small – about 5″ x 3.5″.

image1

If you’re interested, here’s a quick pattern for you!

With aran weight wool & US 8 needles, cast on 40 stitches & join for knitting in the round. knit 7 rounds. next round, *k2tog, k8* – repeat until end of round. knit 3 rounds. next round, *k2tog, k7* – repeat until end. knit 3 rounds. next round, *k2tog, k6* – repeat until end. knit 3 rounds. bind off, slide on pot & enjoy!

Quick and simple! Now go forth and beautify your pots!

3 thoughts on “Knitted Pot Cozies

  1. Thanks for sharing this! They’re very cute and a great way to use some colorful stash. I’m finding all of my plants are being taken out of the house because of a certain kitten, but when she grows up a bit, this will be a fun project.

    Like

  2. This is such a great idea! It’ll help me get rid of my start up stash of yarn, and make my plants look even prettier without having to spend money on a new pot. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

